Lake Bled: Europe’s hidden gem

 

slovenia.png

For anyone that visits Lake Bled, there is a compulsory need to hike the muddy trails up to Osojnica viewpoint to the south of the lake. It was at this point that I experienced the most beautiful, natural scenery of Europe: perched on a bench overlooking the Julian Alps in the background with full picturesque view of the 2km-long lake. Even a camera of great quality does not begin to reflect the grace of the observation in person.

 

“If anyone tells you wine is bad for you, they are wrong.”

 

A sharp breeze at the apex soon cured a mild hangover from last nights €3 bottle of red wine, as well as a few gulps of water from the generous couple who I envied the sober state of. It was also the previous night that wine and I decided on a spontaneous trip to Pula, Croatia, accompanied by international backpackers. This being my first time travelling alone, I was outside my comfort zone and for that, as well as decisions in life thereafter, is why I chose to go with it. The result of the trip you ask? Simply, if anyone tells you wine is bad for you, they are wrong.

11037706_10152888762838043_8537993102069987866_n.jpg

 

Four days in Bled gives you plenty of time to explore the local attractions including a compulsory row on the lake and visit to Church of the Assumption. When I visited, the man on the ticket admission box was on a toilet break saving me a few euros, unfortunately I cannot guarantee the same for you. Visitors ring the church bell three times and make a wish, of which is said to come true. I did the tradition and am still waiting.

Finish the day with a coffee and croissant in the local café for a mere €3, or head over to Park Hotel and try their signature Bled cake that was first baked in 1970.

Slovenia continues to be one of my favourite places and I would absolutely recommend it for some Summer adventure or a short break from reality.

 

1978608_10152888748133043_5291854391683889519_n.jpg

 

 

Leave a Reply

